IPL 2019: CSK lost the final by one run!


The final of the IPL 2019 as expected went down the wire but unfortunately, CSK couldn’t cross the line in the final delivery, thanks to Malinga’s variation.

After opting to bat first, Mumbai started well initially with Quinton de Kock taking on the bowlers but it didn’t last long as Thakur’s short delivery dismissed him. He was followed by the Mumbai Indians captain as Rohit Sharma who got out soon as well. That forced Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan to join but the pair didn’t last long as they found it difficult to score runs against the CSK bowlers and the conditions. While MI was losing wickets at one end, Pollard scored 41* off 25 to help the team to reach 149 in their 20 overs. His knock wasn’t without controversy as a controversial wide call angered him and he literally moved out of the pitch only to be warned by the umpires.

On return, CSK’s openers started off well with both Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson scoring at a brisk speed. Faf then was dismissed by Krunal Pandya who was taken for a lot of runs by the openers. MI then attacked Raina with short deliveries and some good bowling from Rahul Chahar dismissed him. Rayudu followed him soon and that was the time Mumbai Indians started to coming back into the match. A lot of dots forced MS Dhoni to risk his wicket for an extra run during the overthrow and was given run-out in one of the longest time-taken episodes by the third umpire.

That wicket really added more pressure on CSK, but with Watson and Bravo playing, they always knew that they could pull it off. They took Malinga’s over for a lot of runs followed by Krunal Pandya’s over that then reduced the target very well. Once again, Jasprit Bumrah helped the team to bounce back and a crucial miss by de Kock in the final delivery of the 19th over reduced the target even more.

With nine needing from six, Rohit Sharma backed Malinga to bowl the final over while they couldn’t hit him for a lot, Jadeja tried to convert ones to twos, and a bit of hesitation gifted MI the wicket of Watson. That put Thakur on strike with four needing from two deliveries. After scoring a two in the fifth ball of the over, Thakur got out the next ball, thanks to Malinga’s slower yorker attempt.

Now, MI becomes the first team to win IPL for the fourth time, and they improve their head to head record over Chennai Super Kings.

Like it? Share with your friends!


What's Your Reaction?

Angry Angry
Cute Cute
Love Love
Krithika V


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Choose A Format
Personality quiz
Series of questions that intends to reveal something about the personality
Trivia quiz
Series of questions with right and wrong answers that intends to check knowledge
Voting to make decisions or determine opinions
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
The Classic Internet Countdowns
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item
Upload your own images to make custom memes
Youtube, Vimeo or Vine Embeds
Soundcloud or Mixcloud Embeds
Photo or GIF
GIF format